Thursday, February 26, 2009

WW is amazing!

I feel absolutely great about life right now! I haven't been this happy in a really long time.. 

I love school and my major.. I am doing well in ALL of my classes, including pre-calc, biology and chemistry! I am understanding everything that we are learning, I have not missed one homework assignment yet, nothing. I am on a role, and I absolutely love it!

Also, yesterday I was in Target after class, looking at clothes, when I decided to try on a size 8 jeans (I wear size 10). THEY FIT!!! I am currently wearing them right now!! I can't believe I have gone down a size! This is a huge victory for me!! I'm hoping that by the time my sisters get here (in 2 weeks) to be 165 lbs! (I am currently 168). It's totally duable! Now that we're talking weight, I want to talk about Weight Watchers. 

This is the BEST thing I have done in my life (so far)! Weight Watchers is in my opinion the best method for losing weight. It's a lifestyle change, not a diet. This program teaches you how to lose weight in a slow and steady way, with the use of points. Certain foods have certain points, and you have an allotment for the day, and the week. When I started my journey with Weight Watchers a year ago, I weighed in at 185lbs. Today I weight 168. Granted, I was off the program from about May - January (this year). So in the short times I was officially on program, I lost a good amount of weight. For anyone who wants to have a healthy lifestyle, but still be able to eat pizza, cookies, etc. WW is amazing! By the time my wedding rolls around, I'm going to weigh 135lbs. I was at that weight my junior year in high school, before I was diagnosed with PCOS. I WILL get to that weight again..

Okay, well that was definitely a plug for anyone who is looking to lose some weight. Haha. Okay, I'm done. :)

Monday, February 23, 2009

Lions, Tigers and Bears, Oh My!

What a busy week so far! This weekend went by in a blur.. I pretty much just ran errands, cleaned and did homework. It was nice and relaxing for the most part, though! 

I signed up to volunteer at the ASPCA (Humane Society) and the Phoenix Zoo this past weekend! I have orientation for the Humane Society on March 7th.. I plan on having my weekends dedicated to volunteering. Also.. I applied for a summer internship at the Denver Zoo!! I would be working directly with carnivorous animals, like lions, bears and tigers. I'd be feeding them, monitoring them, cleaning their environment, and making sure they're nice and healthy! How awesome does that sound! It's a paid internship, and it would be an amazing oppurtunity if I was selected! We'll see what happens!

That's pretty much all going on right now.. Spring Break is in a week and a half! I can't wait for Jo and Kelsey to fly out and help with the wedding planning!!! And it looks like I'm going to be 15lbs lighter than from when I tried on the dresses about a month ago! I've lost 10 lbs so far on Weight Watchers this time around.. and a grand total of 17lbs since one year ago. I think that's pretty awesome! Alright, gotta go study for a test tomorrow!

Friday, February 20, 2009

Double the Trouble, yes please!

I decided that I want twins.

Yup, I want two babies, at the same time. :] For some odd reason, I have always envisioned me having twins, and LOVING it! I would absolutely love to have a full time job, taking care of two little gorgeous babies. I really do hope that someday, God can bless me with two babies for the price of one. I already have their names picked out.. LOL. I want a baby boy, and a baby girl. The boy's name will be Aiden (don't know about middle names, any ideas?) and for the girl, I want her name to be Bella. SO CUTE! Aiden and Bella, twins. Perhaps I really am a masochist as my dad keeps reminding me. :]]

Oh, BTW.. Chris and I cooked AGAIN last night! This time we made sweet pork and brown rice! We're getting good at this whole "cooking" thing! I need recipes.. anyone, anyone? (pokes Jo) :]

Thursday, February 19, 2009

In the Kitchen.

Chris and I cooked last night.

Yes, read that line again.. we actually cooked. It was crazy. I know this sounds ridiculous, but Chris and I are not ones who regularly run into the kitchen to whip up some homemade dinner. What did we cook? We made beer brats and baked potatoes. We're such dorks, haha.. but hey, it did not come from a box, and we actually had to cook/bake them. How did it taste? Delicious! :] Maybe we'll have to try cooking again soon..

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

The Happiest Place on Earth!

Hello wonderful blog. :]

So, not much has been going on lately - just school. It's a little crazy right now, but I'm enjoying the ride! Valentine's day was this past weekend, and Chris and I decided Friday morning we were going to drive to Disneyland! So random, and spontaneous.. but it was so much fun! So, we left Friday morning, drove to California, stayed with Chris's grandma in Huntington Beach, and Saturday we spent 15 hours at Disneyland! It was a GREAT weekend! Then Sunday we met Kelsey for breakfast (who would have thought she would be in the OC the SAME weekend we went!), and then we took off to go home! It was a fast and furious weekend, but oh so much fun!! It was a great "break" from school and other stresses, and it was nice to just have some time to ourselves. :] I hope everyone else had a great weekend as well!

Other than my exciting weekend, not much has been going on. Just enjoying life, and being almost 100% stress free! :]

UPDATE: Oh, and I also forgot to mention that today I purchased my first "Cake Wreck" T-Shirt! So excited!! I'll definitely post pictures when I receive it!

Thursday, February 5, 2009

Am I Psychic?

Wow, can I predict things or what? The day after I wrote that last post, my work laid me off. I was actually gonna try to beat them to the punch, by giving my two weeks notice, but my boss said she was going to lay me off anyway, and that they didn't need me to work out two more weeks. Well, this is just another chance to really focus on school, and get amazing grades. So far, I haven't felt bad or worried because I lost my job. I have money saved up, and I know it will last me at least 6 months if I don't find another job soon. I took out a student loan for this reason alone.. just in case something DID happen with my job, I would be covered. So, I am on the prowl for another job.. Hopefully I can find something at either a Vet clinic or at the Phoenix Zoo! :)
Nothing much going on otherwise..


OH! I have to share this.. I started Weight Watchers again about a month ago, and in the past year that I have been off and on with it, I have lost a total of 15 lbs! I think that really is a great step in the right direction! I'm going to my meeting on Saturdays now with my mom, since I don't work. My goal is at least 20 more lbs by my wedding, which is totally duable. I'm on a roll! :)

Monday, February 2, 2009

Why yes, I am a Bio Major!

So much has been going on!

I started school two weeks ago.. and can I say that I LOVE MY MAJOR! Haha, who would have thought that Alyssa finds Chemistry, Biology and Pre-Calculus interesting? Weird, I know.. but I'm actually excited for my classes everyday. I'm also taking a wicked cool Religion class, and Philosophy. My dad called me a Masochist the other day, but honestly, I just like to push myself. This major change was the best thing I have ever done. I've also gotten 100% on all my homework so far, in every class. Can I brag a little? I think so. :)

So, besides school.. my life is pretty relaxing. I'm actually not as stressed as I thought I would be with 5 classes, 2 labs and 1 recitation. I don't work nearly as much as I did last semester. In fact, they are transferring me to a different center, because my hours aren't "flexible". Whatever. Honestly, school is my priority. I took out a student loan for this exact reason. I don't have time to work right now.. Everyday after my classes (from about 1pm-8pm) I study my butt off. I go home, sit at my kitchen table, and get my crap done. I'm actually ticked off at my work for being so insensitive. I haven't worked my new schedule (which is Monday 3-7:30 and Saturday 7-3) for two weeks before they got tired of it. I honestly think they're going to lay me off soon.. but you know what? I'm actually not as heart-broken as I thought I would be. My plan this summer was finding a job in my field anyway.. so maybe I should just start looking early. Anyway, I'm preparing myself for them to cut me. School is my priority...

Ok, so a little venting is healthy, :). Otherwise, life is absolutely awesome! I don't think I've been this happy in a long time. I love going to school, learn interesting things, go home, do my homework, study, hang out with Tess, and then start the process over again. Is that weird? I don't know..

Gosh, this entry is all over the place.. Ha Ha. Okay, well I gotta run to class! I love my life! YAY!